Your Mother Slept With Wilt Chamberlain

A Sports Blog on why ALL Teams Suck…Again!

Ohio State Players and the Choices they make while in the Shower

Posted by Thomas the Terrible on July 22, 2008

This is definitely the slow season. Since the Red Sox weren’t on last night and there was nothing on TV, I decided to surf around various sports sites and find something to read. That’s when I came across this interview with Ohio State’s Marcus Freeman on the evil empire that is known as ESPN.

Sometimes these interviews are insightful sometimes they aren’t. This one was so-so. But something did catch my eye, and that was the fact Marcus and other players make life choices while in the shower…together.

I hate to make you describe a shower scene, but take me back to after the LSU loss when you and the other juniors talked about coming back for this season.

MF: Just a lot of emotion. Sitting on that bench and thinking, ‘Hey, I don’t think I’m going to come back and have this feeling again.’ But we got in the shower, everybody’s disappointed. I forget who was the first person to say something, but it was weird that all of us that had major decisions about coming back were all in the shower at the same time. (Alex) Boone or Malcolm (Jenkins) or someone said, ‘Hey, I’m coming back. I’m not leaving college football like this.’ And then James (Laurinaitis) said, ‘I’m coming back, too,’ and I said, ‘I’m coming back, too.’ We all knew we really had to go home and think about it, but that was the first feeling of, ‘Hey, let’s come back and do it one more time. Let’s go out with a bang our senior year.'”

Generally men in the shower area don’t say much while keeping their eyes facing forward. If you’re a male and are showering with other males, the last word you want to hear in that environment is “bang”. It tends to bring up to many thoughts of prison or a Wham concert.

I applaud the players returning to finish obtaining their degrees, not enough players in college football do that, however I could have done with out the knowledge that this choice was made in a shower area.

Leave a Reply

 
