Your Mother Slept With Wilt Chamberlain

A Sports Blog on why ALL Teams Suck…Again!

Jimmy “Black Lung” Leyland has the last laugh on Gary Sheffield

Posted by Thomas the Terrible on August 13, 2008

Gary Sheffield and Jim “Black Lung” Leyland have been sparring in the media since Monday due to Sheffield’s comments he made to a reporter for the Boston Globe.

“I can be in the outfield and play every day. I don’t want to DH,” Sheffield told the Boston Globe. “I don’t feel like a baseball player when I DH. I don’t know how to be the leader that I am from the bench. I can’t be a vocal leader. I can’t talk to guys from the bench because I don’t feel right about it.”

“I come in some days and I don’t play and some days I play. That’s platooning to me,” Sheffield said. “You might think it’s different. It’s not a big deal, but that’s the way I feel.”

“I don’t know how to be the leader that I am from the bench.”

Who’s writing this guys material? This is the funniest thing I have ever read. Sheffield a leader? That’s a riot!

“I’m in a role now where I don’t know what to do, really. The guys are out there busting their butt for nine innings, they come in and they hit and they grind. I just sit down and hit. That’s all I do, so I can’t be in a leadership role from that position.”

Hey Gary guys that are batting .222 don’t get to complain about playing time!

When you are batting .222 and playing almost every day, you should be quiet and accept your role. Especially when last time you got a chance to play in the outfield everyday you went on the disabled list less than a week later. If you do not like your role, give the money you are due back to the team for the next year and a couple months and go find a new job.

Sheffield is upset because if he’s a DH, he can’t purposely throw the ball into the stands like he did when he was with the Brewers years ago when he was unhappy. Errr, ummmmm, when he was unhappy implies that he is happy sometimes, so let’s just leave it at when he was with the Brewers and didn’t want to be with the Brewers so he purposely cheated the game and threw the ball into the stands to get management upset and trade him. Why he was never suspended from baseball when he admitted that, I’ll never know.

Black Lung said he’s “flabbergasted” by Sheffield’s comments and fired back with nicotine filled vengeance:

“I told him that all I had here for him was a DH. If he did not want to accept that, do not accept the trade. I’m still confused by the article because it talks about ‘platoon doesn’t set well.’ Gary Sheffield never platooned here.

“Platoon is when you have a left-hand hitter and a right-hand hitter. One plays against right-hand pitching and one plays against left-hand pitching. That is a platoon.”

“Anybody that has a brain knows that’s not a platoon,” Leyland said, “I tried to play him in the outfield. It didn’t work; he couldn’t throw in from the outfield.”

What else is there to say? If there was no DH, he’d have been bothering his neighbors three years ago. Give me $12 million & I’ll be a DH. Hell I’ll even be the bat boy too!!

Well Black Lung Jimmy also will get the last laugh because yesterday Sheffield was placed on waivers.

Teams aren’t permitted to comment on the waiver process, so it’s possible the timing is coincidental. (wink wink nudge nuge)

So it seems likely that Sheffield’s latest remarks have prompted them to see if interest in him. Sheffield is a cancer so good luck with that.

Sheffield has always been a spoiled prima dona who will try to whine his way out of his current situation. He has done this from the beginning of his career at Milwaukee and has kept it up. The only reason people put up with him is because he used Barry’s clear and could hit like a monster! Good Riddance Gary!! You are just as much a product of the juice as Barry or Giambi and now that you aren’t on the juice you find yourself injured a lot…. Hmmm, connection?

Leave a Reply

 
