Your Mother Slept With Wilt Chamberlain

A Sports Blog on why ALL Teams Suck…Again!

Tiki Barber dropping the C-Bomb on NBC

Posted by Thomas the Terrible on August 22, 2008

Tiki Barber is perhaps the world’s most bitter former NFL running back. Imagine retiring early and then criticizing Tom Coughlin in an interview with Newsday by saying:

“Tom is the way he is; he’s not going to change, and that’s fine,” Barber said. “Just as it’s his prerogative to coach that way and treat people the way he does, it’s my prerogative to do something else and give you a reason why.”

“If I was lying, if I said, ‘Tom was a great guy,’ that he said, ‘Tiki, I know you’re hurt, take a day off,’ or if we screwed up he didn’t yell at me and said, ‘OK, Tiki,’ with positive reinforcement, then I’d be lying and I’d be wrong,” Barber added.

And course slamming the Coughlin, the Giants owners and even the fans in his book Tiki: My Life in the Game and Beyond.

“[Coughlin] robbed me of what had been one of the most important things I had in my life, which was the joy I felt playing football,” Barber wrote. “I had lost that. He had taken it away.”

“The fans normally only see me suited up on Sunday,” Barber wrote. “They never witness the agony of Monday morning, or all the muscle-straining workouts, the practices, the blood, the sweat, and tears it takes to walk out onto the field.”

Of course Tiki takes some credit for the Giants super bowl win even though by that time he was just another former jock announcer.

“I feel great joy for them because I know in a lot of ways I helped a lot of guys on that team,” Barber said. “I know Brandon [Jacobs] was someone who benefited from me being there; even criticizing someone is a way of getting them to think about themselves.”

Of course Tiki couldn’t stop while he was ahead. On January 3rd this year before the Giants were crowned champions again, Tiki elected to slam Eli Manning.

“Eli’s got a strong arm. I know he’s been really maligned this year. You watch him on film, it seems like he’s going through a process the right way, making the right decisions. Sometimes he just throws some bad balls,” Ronde said yesterday in a phone conversation with The Post. “I don’t know the reasons for that. He can be had, we know that.”

He can be had?

“Just look at his percentage,” Barber said. “At the end of the day, your numbers don’t lie, and at the end of the day, you are what you put on film. Obviously, this team’s got a whole bunch of talent, and Eli’s got a whole bunch of talent behind him. He just doesn’t show it all the time.”

This brings us to today. I know that you know that Tiki knows he is rather bitter and embarrassed.

In the video below you’ll notice that Barber is talking to Jenna Wolfe and Brian Williams. Wolfe made a comment about Barber not having a Super Bowl ring, and shortly thereafter Williams made a comment about the Olympic “medal count.” At the 28 second mark on the video listen closely because it sounds like Barber said what sounded to be the dreaded C-word. I’m sure it was a Freudian slip directed to Wolfe after he felt that she had insulted him or he is still feeling like a jackass.

Leave a Reply

 
