Your Mother Slept With Wilt Chamberlain

A Sports Blog on why ALL Teams Suck…Again!

Wife of Pirates prospect accused of robbing the cradle

Posted by Thomas the Terrible on March 26, 2009

As most of you know by now I’m a diehard Boston Red Sox fan what some might not know is that my favorite NL team is the Pittsburgh Pirates. Yeah yeah I know it’s not a real franchise anymore.

If one believes that any press is good press including negative press, then boy the Pirates are in luck! It seems the wife of one of their top minor league prospects is being questioned in the apparent kidnapping of a baby from a Plant City, Fla. health clinic.

Thankfully the two month-old was returned unharmed one day after allegedly being taken from its parents by Amalia Tabata Pereira, 43, who happens to be the wife of Pirates’ minor league outfielder Jose Tabata, 20. Wow a umm 23 year difference in age…alrighty then.

Fortunately for Jose, all the 43 year-olds in Altoona (where he played last season) are either grandmothers or, more likely, great-grandmothers. He was hoping he could make the majors and get a wife upgrade before the old model did something crazy.

Officials claim that Pereira posed as a health care worker, telling the mother, Rosa Sirilo-Francisco, that she was about to be deported and that she could help with the infant. There is no indication that Tabata himself was involved. From ESPN:

“Jose Tabata addressed the matter in a statement released by the team. “I was shocked to be told today that my wife has been arrested for kidnapping. I am hurt, frustrated, and confused by her actions,” Tabata said. “I have and will continue to cooperate with law enforcement officials in anyway that I can. Until I have all of the facts, I cannot comment any further.”

I wonder if the alleged exchange between Amalia and the victim’s mom went like this:

“Hey, I’m about to be deported, can I have your baby for a second?”
“Well, I don’t see why not!”

Jose has as many stolen bases this spring as his wife has stolen babies. Typical Pirates baseball…

Leave a Reply

 
