Your Mother Slept With Wilt Chamberlain

A Sports Blog on why ALL Teams Suck…Again!

Sometimes politicians make me look brilliant

Posted by Thomas the Terrible on May 22, 2009

Before I begin this rant let it be known that I do currently own a gun and I have a permit to carry a concealed weapon. There’s a reason I started this post off like this keep reading and you’ll see why. 

Contrary to popular belief most politicians really aren’t complete idiots. Most are former attorneys who wanted something more. Then there’s Ernest Wooton a state representative in Louisiana, now he makes Les (Big hat little penis) Miles look like a Rhodes Scholar. 

See State Rep. Woot there it is Wooton is proposing House Bill 27 which allow anyone with a concealed weapons permit to carry a gun on Louisiana’s college campuses. This has cause Miles to stop playing with his voo doo doll of Kirk Herbstreit and make the following comment: 

“I am concerned about this piece of legislation for reasons far greater than sports,” Miles said in a statement issued Monday. “Having worked on a college campus for most of my career, I know that firearms do not belong on campus. 

“To allow firearms on campus would be to introduce an element of risk that could compromise all that is good about a university setting.” 

I whole hardily agree with Coach Miles. First no one tailgates harder than LSU fans and they take pride in that. If a game is happening Saturday then they start parting Wednesday. Bottom line alcohol and firearms do not mix, much less combined with fan frenzy and bitter feelings either by LSU fans after a loss or opposing fans after a loss. 

Now I’m not picking on LSU either. I don’t want to be able to carry a firearm on the campus of Tennessee or any other institute of higher learning period. 

What’s really scary about this situation is that Gov. Bobby Jindal (Louisiana’s governor) actually supports this bill and stated he will sign it to law. Maybe both Wooton and Jindal are smart men but they are certainly lacking something called common sense. 

So here is a question for you and feel free to answer this in the comments section: How safe would you feel traveling or attending a game at a school where you know that some drunken spectator is most likely carrying a firearm?

2 Responses to “Sometimes politicians make me look brilliant”

  1. lewp said

    Nice blog, I have just found it.
    I completely agree with your assessment. I have no idea why our lawmakers find it necessary to allow firearms on a college campus. As a veteran of the U.S. Army, I’ve seen my share of weaponry, and I just don’t understand is there some sort of evil threat on college campuses to warrant this action?
    I mean, I can understand if a lawmaker would want to ok firearms on say, a mass transit subway, or someplace where there is a “captive” audiance, but a college? Something tells me when I don’t understand something, always look for some $ going somewhere.

  2. Chef Troll said

    http://www.legis.state.la.us/billdata/streamdocument.asp?did=636527

    You might want to look at the ACTUAL proposal (it passed 9-6 in committee) and look at some thoughtful non-hysterical FACT-BASED examinations of what this bill will and will not do. I’d suggest Doctor John Lott, as one source. You might change your mind.

    Good website in general here, methinks.

    GO GATORS. CHOMP!

Leave a Reply

 
